The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA) was officially founded on April 14th, 1837 and constituted the first University of the Eastern Mediterranean region, operating four Departments.

Today NKUA offers undergraduate studies in 9 Schools with 43 Departments and 279 Laboratories, which, besides educational goals, aim to perform innovative research and establish creative collaborations with leading research institutions, Competent Authorities and consortia around the world. Based on the results of the world ranking of Universities «Webometrics Ranking Web of Universities» (July 27th, 2021) NKUA constitutes the greatest educational institution in Greece and is ranked 48th among the European Union universities and 224th in the world.

In addition, it is a member of the European Civic University (CIVIS), an alliance amongst eight top education research institutes in Europe: Aix-Marseille Université, University of Athens, Universitatea din București, Université libre de Bruxelles, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Sapienza Università di Roma, Stockholms Universitet, and Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen.

Supporting the strategic development plan, 15 Centers of Excellence operate at NKUA during the last 1 year, in innovative, interdisciplinary fields. The University has demonstrated or intends to develop research activity and broad collaborations.